Beauty Products Review #1

Hey Everyone!

I have been thinking about compiling a beauty products review for a while now.

Dumm-du-da-dumm!

Here is a sneak peak at some of the beauty products I am going to review today:

2014 Beauty Review

In my last post, I mentioned that I subscribe to leighannsays – a channel that features a girl from Houston TX who reviews beauty products and creates makeup tutorials and such….I have fun watching her videos, and thought that maybe I should make my own little “review” of some of the products I have been using. I don’t feel comfortable videotaping myself (I tried it for a hot minute the other day….it was scary) but I will try to let as much of my personality shine through here in writing as I can.

My first pick for review is this makeup pouch I got for Christmas from my best friend Chelsea.

028

I included it because I am suddenly obsessed with polka dots, and she did not even know it when she gave this to me. I think it’s so cute! This pouch is aprox. 7×9 inches and fits a lot of little goodies. The material is faux leather but feels nice. Tag says just “Zip Pouch” & “Distributed for Michaels Stores” so I could take a guess as to where she got it from. Nonetheless, I love it. It’s the little things like cute travel pouches that make me happy 🙂

I think I need help. I have a little love affair with travel cases for accessories. Someday I might show you how many I have. It’s a bit ridiculous, but I manage to find handy dandy uses for all of them.

Since we just talked about a makeup pouch, lets proceed with the makeup. Next on my list is the Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer.

004

Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer *** out of 5 stars

As you may be able to tell, this tube is almost empty. I got it last January from Ulta (my new favorite beauty mecca, there is like 10 Ulta’s within 20 minutes from my house…they are popping up everywhere). Anyways, I had gone to Ulta to look for the Naked 3 palate and they were all sold out, but the makeup artist that worked for Smashbox spent a lot of time with me and made over my entire face with Smashbox products (so naturally I bought everything she used on me) and this was my favorite out of all the things I bought.

The premise behind a foundation primer is that it’s supposed to help prep your face for your makeup. I used it over my moisturizer but underneath my makeup. This primer claims to minimize pores and fine lines. I don’t have huge pores, but my skin felt so velvety after I applied this primer, and it seemed to help my foundation glide on more smoothly. I have considered purchasing a product like this again, although I am more inclined to use a BB cream instead of actual full coverage foundation, and typically BB creams include a primer in them already.

Speaking of BB Creams, I currently am using the Tarte BB Tinted Treatment 12 Hour Primer in “light”.

016

Tarte BB Tinted Treatment **** out of 5 stars

This is what I purchased after my Smashbox foundation ran out from my January Ulta haul. This stuff is like buttah on your face. It contains 30 SPF – which I like to protect my milky wha-wha-white skin. Claims are: “12 hour primer, buildable coverage, oil-free moisturizer, pore minimizer,skin brightener and chemical-free sun protector”.

I would definitely pick up this product again. I appreciate the light coverage that can be built upon because I tend to go for a more natural makeup look. This BB cream feels light and silky on my skin, and blends nicely and evenly for me. I also feel that this BB cream covers my imperfections and red areas well along with my concealer – they are a dream team!

Nice seguay into my next beauty product: concealer! I am also using a Tarte product for concealing. This one is called Tarte Maracuja Creasless Concealer in either “fairly light neutral” or “light” (not sure which color I have, the bottle does not state the specific color but I usually pick up something with a yellow underdertone for correcting blue viens under my eyes – which both of these colors claim to do)

015

Tarte Maracuja Creasless Concealer **** out of 5 stars

I am very happy with this concealer. It works very well for my huge blue undereye bags (thank you Mother), and  a little bit goes a long way with this stuff. When I purchased the BB cream and the concealer together, I received a free gift. This is what I would call a miracle in a pot – the Tarte Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder.

014

Tarte Smooth Operator Finishing Powder ***** out of 5 stars

 

After applying the concealer, I go over the undereye area with a few swipes of this loose & translucent powder, and it sets the concealer, and smooths out all of the creases (yes, the concealer says it’s creasless, but from my experience it’s only after it has dried on the skin) and helps to minimize the undereye shadows and blue tint that I struggle so desperately to cover up. Really, really like this powder and I plan on purchasing it when this trial-sized pot runs out.

Next up, my ecotools Buffing Concealer travel-size brush.

013

Eco Tools Buffing Concealer Brush ***** out of 5 stars

I purchased this brush in a set called the Eco Tools Fresh & Flawless 5 pc. complexion set. I like all of the brushes that came with this set. So far out of all the makeup brush brands I have used, I prefer the Eco Tools brand. The brushes are so soft, and they hold up after cleansing without leaving stray bristles on my face when I am using them. This concealer brush is what I use to buff on the Tarte Smooth Operator Finishing powder above. It has a flat edge and I work the powder over the concealed area in a soft, circular buffing motion. Not sure if that’s the best way – it’s just how I do it.

I also purchased the Eco Tools 6 Pc. Cosmetic Brush Set when I purchased the complexion brushes, and I use these brushes for my eye shadow application. Personally, I like to buy the travel sized brushes, they work for my little baby-chicken-nugget-sized hands and they are more compact and cheaper. It’s a win-win in my opinion.

The last 2 makeup items I am reviewing are eyeshadows: 1 drugstore find and 1 high-end eye shadow palate. First up, the drugstore find: WetnWild Color Icon Eyeshadow trio in Walking on Eggshells

011

Wet n Wild Color Icon Eye Shadow Palate in Walking on Eggshells ***** out of 5 stars

 

This is my everyday go-to eye shadow. It glides on smoothly, and the amount of shimmer is a bit on the heavier side, but I prefer a higher shimmer eye shadow. I also think it is a great color for blondes. I have been in search of a good color palate for blondes, and have found that with my dishwater blonde hair and green eyes, the peachy and rose tones look nice on me. The only downside to this eye shadow is that it can crumble easily when using a brush, so I am high class and swipe it on with my ring finger 😉

Did someone say rose tones? How about the Urban Decay Naked 3 eye shadow palate?

019

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palate

020

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palate **** out of 5 stars

The Naked 3 palate is a mix of matte and shimmer rose tone eye shadows and they mix very well together. Since Urban Decay is a premium makeup brand, the color pigments are richer, meaning you need less material to get the desired look. They eye shadow feels buttery on my eyelid, and the colors stay all day. The only reason I gave this palate 4 out of 5 stars is that I have not used the darker colors much yet. I tend to prefer lighter colors on my eyes and still have not gotten used to the darker smokey eye look on myself. My favorite colors in this palate are Strange, Burnout and Buzz.

So we have covered face and eyes so far…next up = lips! The newest lip purchase I made was for the Maybeline Baby Lips lip balm in Twinkle. 

010

Maybeline Baby Lips lip balm in Twinkle **** out of 5 stars

I like this lip balm because it gives adequate shine, feels smooth as silk without being gloppy on my lips, and smells really nice. Also gives just a hint of pink to my lips. A con about this lip balm is that it doesn’t stay on the lips for very long, so frequent re-application is needed.

I purchased this and most of my other drugstore makeup from my local Walgreens. On a side note: our health insurance changed, as many people’s have this year, and my new insurance no longer accepts Walgreens as a participating pharmacy. This really bums me out because I love my Walgreens. The people that work there are always so helpful, and I know where everything is. Now I will have to start shopping at CVS. Hopefully the transition will not be too painful for me.

Thanks to Pinterest, I have recently turned into a nail polish junkie. A few of my favorites are: Sally Hansen Double Duty Base & Topcoat, Essie Nail Lacquer in Spaghetti Strap and CoverGirl Outlast Stay Brilliant nail gloss in Bronze Beauty

006

Sally Hansen Double Duty Base & Topcoat *** out of 5 stars

This base & topcoat by Sally Hansen works nicely because it creates a good semi-course environment for your nail polish to set on. It seems to make it easier for the applied nail polish to brush on. It also works well to create a shiny, fast-drying topcoat.

007

Essie nail lacquer in Spaghetti Strap **** out of 5 stars

I really like this color. 2 coats give the perfect natural manicure in my opinion. I have also used this as the base for a rose-gold manicure that I tried (another Pinterest find) that can be seen here:

001

Rose Gold Manicure: Essie nail lacquer in Spaghetti Strap and Cover Girl Outlast Stay Brilliant nail gloss in Penny Talk

 

Finally for the nail polishes, the Cover Girl polish in Bronze Beauty is a good neutral color, which to me,  looks a bit more like a silver than a bronze on the nails. This color stayed on my nails for almost 5 days without chipping…a plus since I wash my hands so many times during the day at work.

003

Cover Girl Outlast Stay Brilliant nail gloss in Bronze Beauty *** out of 5 stars

029

Manicure with Bronze Beauty

 

 The last products that I wanted to include in my review: hair products and perfume/body lotions. For the hair care products, I have to thank my hairdresser for introducing me to Moroccan Oil Hydrating Styling Cream.

026

Moroccan Oil Hydrating Styling Cream **** out of 5 stars

I apply a dime-sized amount of the Moroccan Oil Hydrating Styling Cream to my wet hair, starting at the ends and working my way to the roots. Then I blow dry my hair. This cream helps me crate a nice smooth lift to my straight and normally boring hair. It gives shine and softness as well, and it smells great. When I have used this product and people get close enough, they often tell me “You smell great!” and the scent they are talking about is likely the Moroccan Oil. Pictured is the 10.2 fluid oz bottle and I purchased it at my salon for a hefty price, but it has lasted me a long time. I use it almost every time I style my hair.

Next up, Batiste Dry Shampoo in Blush.

027

Batiste Dry Shampoo in Blush *** out of 5 stars

I don’t know how I lived without dry shampoo in the past. I mainly use dry shampoo on pre-styled day-old hair, on the days when I am going to work and can just spray my hair, then sweep it up into a pony tail. I heard about this brand Batiste from the YouTube channel leighannsays. Leigh Ann reviewed it in one of her empties videos (I think) and I decided to give it a try. The scent Blush claims to be “floral & flirty” and I like the scent. Sometimes I just spray it on my freshly styled hair to make it smell nice. This dry shampoo sprays on white, and you really have to work it into the hair. Since I am a blonde, I don’t have much trouble blending it into my hair; but if your hair is darker, you may have a more difficult time. Overall I liked this product, but it is on the pricier side. I probably will not re-purchase this one because I have used the Suave version in the past, and thought it worked just fine for 1/3 the price.

We are down to the last category: Perfumes! Lately I have been having trouble with perfumes, and strong scents in general. I used to wear Dior’s J’adore religiously, but I can’t tolerate that perfume anymore, which makes me sad. There is one scent/perfume that I have really enjoyed within the past year: Bath & BodyWorks Country Chic.

025

Bath & Body Woks Country Chic **** out of 5 stars

In 2012 I purchased the full sized Body Cream and Perfume set, which came in a blue-colored packaging. I have since used all of the body cream but have not gone through the perfume yet. The blue bottle of perfume pictured is the old style packaging. For the secret Santa work exchange this Christmas, I asked for Country Chic stuff from Bath & Body Works, and my co-worker got me the body lotion and shower gel. The lotion pictured is the current style packaging for the Country Chic line. Bath & Body Works’ description of the scent is “effortlessly sexy scent is a bright blend of sparkling lemon, marigold and golden sunflower with a subtle glow of orange blossom and amber wood”. I personally think Country Chic is a light, yet sensual fragrance and not too overpowering. I would definitely purchase this line again. I wear this on a daily basis.

Finally, the last product I am reviewing is actually a perfume sample I got this summer on a trip to Switzerland with my husband. I was in love with this perfume, but so far, have not found that it can be purchased in the US. Behold: Pomelleto Nudo Rose

023

Pomelleto Nudo Rose Eau De Parfum ***** out of 5 stars

This perfume’s description is “Top notes: Pink grapefruit, Peach, Bergamot, Water fruits; Heart: Rose, Aquatic Lilly of the Valley, Pink Freesia; Dray Down: White Musk, White Cedarwood, Sandalwood, Cashmere Wood; Olfactive Family: Floral Musky Rose”. I don’t know why but I have always loved anything rose scented. Stumbling upon this sample was a happy accident, but I intend to purchase a bottle in the near future. In Switzerland, I found this at Globus, a Swiss department store for around 79 CHF (Swiss Franc or about $78 US) but I didn’t purchase then because I figured I could try and buy it for less when I got home. So far, I was wrong. 😦 I will keep hunting though, and may eventually shell out the dough because I like it so much. I wish this blog had smell-o-reading so you could get a sniff of this perfume.

I hope you enjoyed my 1st beauty products review! Any further questions about the products I listed above, just drop me a comment below.

AngSignature

6 thoughts on “Beauty Products Review #1

  1. Pingback: Blogging inspirations….. | following my own yellow brick road

Leave a Reply

